State President, His Excellency Dr Lazarus Chakwera, has finally restructured his cabinet following two rounds of appointments within this week.

With the recent appointment, the Head of State and Government now has a full 30-member cabinet, one less than his maiden 31-member cabinet which he appointed in 2020 soon after being elected Malawi president.

Following the latest appointment, Vice President Right Honourable Saulos Chilima continues to head public sector reforms while Finance and Economic Affairs Minister is now youthful Hon Sosten Gwengwe who replaces HonFelix Mlusu.

Hon Richard Chimwendo-Banda, who is also Leader of House in Parliament now heads Ministry of Youth and Sports while Hon Jean Sendeza is the new Minister of Homeland Security.

President Chakwera: Has reconfigured his cabinet

Hon Eisenhower Mkaka is now Minister of Natural Resources while Hon Nancy Tembo is new Minister of Foreign Affairs. Hon Timothy Mtambo maintains his portfolio at the Ministry of National Unity.

Other Ministers include Hon Sam Kawale (Minister of Lands), Hon Mark Katsonga Phiri (Minister of Trade and Industry), Hon Albert Mbawala (Minister of Mining), Hon Ibrahim Matola (Minister of Energy), Hon Monica Chang’anamuno ( Deputy Minister of Education), Hon Harry Mkandawire ( Deputy Minister of Defence), Hon Deus Gumba (Deputy Minister of Lands),  Hon Enock Phale (Deputy Minister of Health), Hon Agnes Nkusa Nkhoma (Deputy Minister of Gender, Community Development and Social Welfare) and Hon John Bande as Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation.

Eight ministers have retained their positions in the new cabinet.

These are Hon Patricia Kaliati [Gender, Community Development and Social Welfare], Hon Lobin Lowe [Agriculture], Hon Dr Michael Usi [Tourism, Culture and Wildlife], Hon Agnes NyaLonje [Education], Hon Titus Mvalo [Justice], Hon Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda [Health], Hon Blessings Chinsinga [Local Government and Rural Development] and Jacob Hara [Transport and Public Works].

The President has promoted former Lands deputy minister Hon Abida Mia to Water and Sanitation Minister and Hon Vera Kamtukule, who was Labour deputy minister, to full minister.

Other deputy ministers retained in their role are Hon Nancy Chaola Mdooko at Ministry of Transport and Public Works and Hon Halima Daud at Ministry of Local Government. Hon Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa who deputized at Ministry of Education has now been moved to Ministry of Agriculture in the same capacity.  

The composition of the new cabinet means that President Chakwera has upheld the gender card as the number of females who are full Ministers has increased from four to seven.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.